Poem in Progress


Note: Please read the post chronologically i.e. in the order of time of occurrence.

Reader Manual: The sentences in italics are thought thoughts and the non-italics are written thoughts. Read carefully.

2:36 I wish someone told me what exactly I should write. I wish my readers (the few that I have, thankfully) made it more clear what they would like to read.

2:34 This does not make a serious read. This is bad… petty! Nobody is going to like this. This is a mad girl’s mad chants. Shit I am mad! Why am I writing this?

2:32 (Staring at the lines) This is so juvenile. *sigh* What do I do? I can’t post this on my blog. Sounds gibberish. (Staring…)

2:30(Reading aloud) I want to see you at the crossroad

And quickly think of those nights

We spent together

Lying in your arms

Kissing your palms

Now I want to shout in the rain

That I am happy from within

And having met here, as strangers again

I have yet an excuse again

To start afresh

To love you again

To be happy like crazy lass

To feel your skin

In the smell of the rain

To love that thought that reminds me of you

To play that perfect smile meant for you

My beauty to be adored by you

And to see myself when I choose you,

…when I choose to love you.

2:27 (reading aloud) To love that thought that reminds me of you

To play that perfect smile meant for you

My beauty to be adored by you

And to see myself when I choose you

Umm…

And to see myself when I choose you

…when I choose to love you.

2:25 How Should I close this. Huh. Beginning and ending is always a problem. Umm…

2:18 (reading once again)

2:16 (reading aloud) I want to see you at the crossroad

And quickly think of those nights

We spent together

Lying in your arms

Kissing your palms

Now I want to shout in the rain

That I am happy from within

And having met here, as strangers again

I have yet an excuse again

To start afresh

To love you again

To be happy like crazy lass

To feel your skin

In the smell of the rain

To love that thought that reminds me of you

To play that perfect smile meant for you

My beauty to be adored by you

And to see myself when I choose you,

2:15 My beauty to be adored by you

To look at you when I choose you

No! Umm…No! I want to see myself. To look at you when I choose you

And to see myself when I choose you,

2:12 To love that thought that reminds me of you

Umm…

To play that perfect smile meant for you

2:08 Umm…

2:04 Umm…

2:03 What next?

2:03 This is good. *eyes glitter* So much fun. I am going to post this.

2:02 (Reading it aloud) I want to see you at the crossroad

And quickly think of those nights

We spent together

Lying in your arms

Kissing your palms

Now I want to shout in the rain

That I am happy from within

And having met here, as strangers again

I have yet an excuse again

To start afresh

To love you again

To be happy like crazy lass

To feel your skin

In the smell of the rain

2:01 People will know I’m writing this. They will know this “I” is me.

2:00 (Thinking…) This is so much personal. I can’t put this on the blog.

1:59 Shit! I sound crazy. Seriously mad! This is so feminine! Or no! This is just crazy! Crazy, Crazy, crazy!

What Am I writing?

Oh! Screw you boy! What have you made me? Why am I writing this? ( Thinking- Blank-)

1:58 To be happy like crazy lass

To feel your skin

In the smell of the rain

1:57 To start afresh

To love you again

1:56 No, this sounds a little odd. And having met as strangers again

And having met here, as strangers again

I have an excuse again.

1:55 And having met as strangers again

I have an excuse again

1:50 Now I want to shout in the rain

That I am happy from within.

1:48 Should I omit the word “kiss?” I should probably just hint at it and not use the word explicitly. 

(Reading) Lying in your arms,

Kissing your palms.

Rhymes perfectly! I want to say this in the poem. Let the word be.

1:47 I have the pen now. Yeah, so what was I thinking?

I want to see you at the crossroad

And quickly think of those nights

 

Then how should I proceed. (Reading aloud)

 I want to see you at the crossroad

And quickly think of those nights

Yeah,

…those nights

We spent together

Lying in your arms

Kissing your palms

1:45 (I feel like writing.) Where is my pen? (Frantically searching for pen.)

1:44 ( it strikes my brainI want to see you at the crossroad

And quickly think of those nights

 

 

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda

About jyoti

with her trailing gaze the shy maverick clings on and through the supple foreplay of her aesthetic sense and a beatific smile insatiates the mellifluous melange!! View all posts by jyoti

6 responses to “Poem in Progress

  • nipundart

    beautiful Jyoti. I read it from 2.36 to 1.44. btw you didnt even take an hour. LOL. and more than the poem i liked this way of writing. Btw, i never knew that your thought process works in english. But maybe as you are pursuingan MA in Englirish. So, with time your thought process might have well adopted English as its language. And, the poem, lusty, and totally based on physical love was simple, and thank you for keeping it simple. It being simple helped me connect to each line of this whole brain-story. Had it been a tough one, it would have been tough story to follow, both top to bottom and bottom to top. Great unique take :)).

    • jyoti

      Over the time I have come to realize that sometimes thoughts flow and are understood in a better way when you keep it simple. Reading difficult words produce a jarring experience and shift the focus of the readers.

      On the part of writing it, this was fun. And yes I learnt to love in English way ( i.e. to say that I was introduced to the concept through my English texts, Bollywood came later);)

      Happy that you liked it. 🙂

      • nipundart

        My writer friend once told me that there is nothing like simple english or tough English. It all depends upon the words you can remember and how you use them at places. So, with time, if i am able to learn new ways and words. I might well be considered as a complex english writer…..so, yes it was easy to understand for a naive me. But may still be tough for some. Like this word “jarring” was new for me :D. The style is neat. Btw it is good to think in English, that easily flows into your writing. But i can’t help. I speak in Hindi all day everyday. So, in the end i have to translate my thoughts into English.

      • jyoti

        And still you are very good at expressing your thoughts in this language. Btw I don’t completely agree that you use Hindi all day every day, not with some of your friends. 😉

        Btw your writer friend is right. 🙂

  • nipundart

    btw, i always have to visit your blog to see your stuff, and sometimes i miss it. Keep me updated on FB…if you want to.

    • jyoti

      Yeah I will do that. I just feel a little awkward to post it on your wall fearing that it might clutter your timeline unnecessarily and plus I’m not confident about my works to display most of the times.

Leave a Reply

