Rising from the ashes!!!


I was lost in the darkness

And was far away from my own self

That feeling of loneliness had sunk deep within

And little  could I help….

I have spent lonely nights

Sitting in my moonlit balcony

The rustling leaves, the whistling wind and the silence of the night

Were the only things to  accompany….

Happiness, smile, success, dreams

All became illusionary.

I was so deeply engulfed in the dark clouds of failure

My future, I could hardly see….

Lost in love, lost in exams,

Lost in the attempt of being  perfect 

Heart broken, confidence shattered

All I wanted now was just to run….

A few years ago I was brimming with confidence

I was so proud…

Success in love, success in exams

It seemed as if I could have reached for the sky

And steal the cloud….

A happy-go-lucky nature with a tinge of maturity

Sprinkled with Fresh dreams full of life

Was suddenly captivated by the chains of sorrow

And failure finally broke me with a knife….

Oh My lord

Was falling in love my mistake?

OR being broken in love, my mistake?

Was caring for my family a mistake?

OR running after my dreams a mistake?

But, the desire to be at the top is still burning

The dreams within me are still breathing

My love has got a new meaning

And now in this race with destiny,

Get ready to see ‘me’ winning !!!!


11 responses to “Rising from the ashes!!!

  • shubham

    last 5 lines deserve a high five !!

    i bet england must have read it to win ‘the ashes’…..and team india needs it!

    a panacea for all CAT givers this time.!
    great work ayush agarwal.
    Allez..!!!

  • shivesh

    thumbs up….great work specially for the questions and the final winning spirit!!!!Its the way to go ahead!!!on my walls!!!

  • gurjeet singh

    Hey ayush…your poem is speaking louder than its words.After reading this poem even i can also feel the pain u must be going through.Its an honour for me to read this poem.I think success should feel honour when u will achieve it …keep up the winning spirit !!! thanks once again for directing me to this imaginary world….Unfinished creations is definitely helping me how to build up creative thinking…thanks jyoti for creating this imaginary world….hope to see a lot more than this!!!!! 🙂

    • ayushagarwal87

      Hey Gurjeet, am really honored by your comment….Thanx a lot buddy!!
      If unfinished creations can inspire you even a bit , then this definitely serves our motive…..
      Keep reading the other articles on this blog…you will surely love them all….
      Thanks once again!!

  • Jyoti Singh

    Ayush, When I read this poem for the first time, it felt as if at some point of time I must have spoken some of these lines myself. Could connect with instantly.

    The last line and the spirit as Shivesh says are the premium lines.

    • ayushagarwal87

      Jyoti, what else can a writer demand….If a reader can connect with ease and feels nostalgic, then that will be the biggest compliment for me!!

  • rick247

    every person goes thorough situation (u described in poem) in life at least once. person who writes this must have accept failure and having urge to rise back at top where it all began . hope i m right .
    great work..

    • ayushagarwal87

      @rick– absolutely correct buddy…its this fighting spirit which enables us to come back again and again and not accept failure with ease!!
      Keep on visiting the blog and read the other poems too…You will love them!!

  • ab1uno

    Hey Ayush…are you my AlterEgo? this is the exact feeling I am having now!!! Kudos, Ayush..you have surely struck a chord here!!!

Leave a comment